burger icon to open nav
X

Introducing and accessing your workspace admin area

The Google Workspace admin panel is where we control all the features of our account. This includes creating and deleting users, appointing admins to help manage the account to possibly take care of their own departments.

If you’re following on from the previous guide about setting up a Workspace for business account, this will be the first look at the admin panel.

Firstly: after looking at ways of accessing the admin area, and as you may be using the 14 day free trial, I’m going to go over deleting, upgrading and downgrading your account using the admin panel.

The quickest way to create a Workspace account View all Workspace admin guides

how to access your Workspace admin panel

When creating your account, you may have been given the option to create a new Chrome browser profile. Doing so makes life easier when we may want to have multiple accounts open at one time.

If you did take up the option, when you sign in to the account, the browser may contain a shortcut to your admin panel.

Don’t be alarmed if your browser doesn't look the same as mine. I’ve already begun to customise it. If you're new to Chrome why not find out how to customize your Chrome browser

Another option to sign in to your admin panel lies in the top right of your browser. Click on the nine dot icon to open the app menu. Then scroll to the Admin link.

Shortcut icons when using a signed into browser

You may notice that my apps listings aren’t in the same order as yours. That’s okay, you can drag and drop the icons around to put the most frequently accessed near the top.

Note: even if you’re signed in to your account, you’ll still have to sign into the admin area each time you access it. The image below shows what happens when you attempt to sign in.

Verification window when signing into the Workspace admin area

Don’t be overwhelmed the first time you enter the admin area, although there’s a lot to take in, and Google doesn’t do a very good job of explaining it, you’ll soon get the hang of it.

The Workspace admin area home page

Upgrading and downgrading your account and cancelling your subscription.

Fortunately: we can access these features by following the same path. Let’s have a look at upgrading and downgrading first.

Remember if you’re currently enrolled in the standard plan, once your subscription begins, you’ll be paying double the price per user, than you would with the basic starter plan.

How to upgrade and downgrade your Workspace account

Once you’ve verified you are who you are, the admin homepage will open, showing all the different areas. The one we’re interested in is the second one titled Billing. Now click on Manage.

Downgrading your Workspace subscription

The admin billing box shown on admin home page

Click what should be the second listing titled Google Workspace Business Standard. Although if Google has refrained from trying to trick us into the standard plan, it may say Google Workspace Business Basic or Business Starter

The subscriptoins that a user is currently subscribed to

Under the heading which shows the plan we’re subscribed to you’ll notice three options:

  1. UPGRADE OR DOWNGRADE
  2. VIEW INVOICES
  3. CANCEL SUBSCRIPTION
The current Workspace business plan with options to upgrade or downgrade, view invoices and cancel subscription

Obviously we need to be clicking the top one. Then we’ll see the range of plans and the one we’re currently subscribed to.

View of all the plans available in the Workspace admin area

All the plans listed, apart from the one you’re already subscribed to, will have the option to Switch. If you’re planning to unsubscribe at the end of the free trial, there’s no need to downgrade.

However: if you are planning to downgrade, after clicking on the plan you want, you’ll be asked to review the warnings about changes that will occur. Then, at the bottom click the blue GET STARTED button,

The review warnings tab that appears when downgrading a Workspace account

Don't be alarmed at the list of warnings, you can always upgrade if there's something you need later. Besides which, the starter plan is usually more than adequate.

Upgrading your Workspace subscription

If you’d like to upgrade your plan, follow the same steps as before, only this time click on a higher plan than you already have.

This time you won’t be confronted with all the doom and gloom that’s heading your way. Instead you’ll be greeted with a comparison of your current plan and the one you’re upgrading to.

How to close your Workspace account

As for most part, cancelling your subscription follows the same route as upgrading or downgrading as detailed above. I'm just going to show a quick list outlining the path to get to the account deletion area.

  1. Sign into your Workspace admin area
  2. In the admin home panel Billing section, click Manage
  3. In the listings: click the plan you’re currently subscribed to
  4. In the next tab click CANCEL SUBSCRIPTION
  5. Then click CANCEL SUBSCRIPTION again

You’ll also see the option to downgrade instead of cancelling your subscription. They don't like to give up without a fight.

The downgrade and cancel options when cancelling Workspace

What’s the next step to managing my Workspace account?

Now we’ve had our first taste of the Workspace administration console, we can begin to start organising the account into organisational units and groups. There we’ll see how to give the separate departments of a company different privileges., and create groups for collaborating.

What’s the next step to managing my Workspace account?

Now we’ve had our first taste of the Workspace administration console, we can begin to start organising the account into organisational units and groups. There we’ll see how to give the separate departments of a company different privileges., and create groups for collaborating.